About Us

Multi picture


The Galway Science & Technology Festival is celebrating 20 years of showcasing Galway as a city of science, Technology, engineering, art and maths!  The collaboration between local industry, local education and government agencies has helped the Festival and Exhibition to grow to become the success that it is today.  During the two-week Festival over 30 science and technology shows and workshops are brought to over 150 schools throughout Galway city and county – helping students to engage with STEM in a meaningful and exciting way.


The Sunday Exhibition is due to take place in NUI Galway on 26th November when doors open at 10am and families spend the day immersed in all things relating to STEM, learning about the world around us and finding out about what an exciting career in these fields would entail.


Some come join us on Sunday 26th of November – learn about extracting DNA from bananas; the Science of Bubbles; Lego workshops; Science busking by the Institute of Physics; 3D Digital Design; Coding; Astronomy; Great Balloon Races; Star Domes and the great Bug Doctor to name but a few.  In addition to over 25 shows and workshops our sponsor companies will exhibit their amazing technologies and products in an interactive and fun way – our main sponsor for 16 years Medtronic will be joined by our other partners Boston Scientific, NUI Galway, GMIT, Cisco, Fidelity, Creganna/TE, The Marine Institute, Valeo and Aerogen.  In 2016 the Gaming Zone was a huge success and Romero Games and 10 other local gaming companies will be joined by world renowned EA Games this year to make this a truly fantastic event and experience not to be missed.


All events are provided free including the Sunday Exhibition and tickets for shows and workshops at the Exhibition will be released on Saturday 18th November at 11am on www.galwayscience.eventbrite.ie

Festival Committee

Committee 2017

Committee Members

Noel Treacy: Founding Patron Paul Mee (Mazars): Chairman
Prof Dónal Leech: (NUI   Galway) – Festival Vice Chairman Conor Clifford (Medtronic) – Treasurer
Anne Casserly: Manager Simon Lenihan:- Coordinator
Committee Members:
Damien Joyce – Medtronic Dr Enda O’Connell – NUI Galway
Brendan Smith – Insight Centre Gavin Collins – NUI Galway
Liam Brennan – NUI Galway Emer McHugh – NUI Galway
Dr Des Foley – GMIT Gerry Woods – Medtronic
Mary Rogers – GMIT Dr Muriel Grenon – NUI Galway
Lorraine Cunningham – GMIT Maura Conneally – ISTA
Bríd Seoige – NUI Galway Dee King – ISTA
Dr Eugene Farrell – NUIG